Post SXSW, Jenova Chen, and Bat Link

Just got back from SXSW’s Interactive week. In a nutshell: fantastic. I met bountiful, creative people—absolute pioneers in their fields, wore my shoes from sole to soul, and spent invaluable time with my Austin family. It was my first SXSW and I loved it immensely. Glad to be out of Austin before the onslaught of its infamous music week! My first night, I got to attend a secret Bootsy Collins show. Late in the show, Bootsy jumped into the audience and brought joy and funk to everyone. SXSW was cool.

Here I am with Jenova Chen:

benjamin_with_jenovachen

This man has become one of my greatest gaming inspirations. Journey affected me in much the same way the first Zelda, Mario, and Final Fantasy experiences did when I was young. He tapped into a real font of humanity, drawing from it the unbridled force to create an interactive tale we can all relate to. He spoke highly of Joseph Campbell. Jenova Chen, it was an honor.

Oh, and here’s a little something I drew upon returning home:

bat_link

One thought on “Post SXSW, Jenova Chen, and Bat Link

Leave a Reply

